Mental Maps in Community Medicine: National Rural Health Mission (NRHM)

Disclaimer: These maps are primarily intended for my students, but may be of use to others as well.

Note: I have several requests to post the next set of mental maps on National Programs. However, no program was specified, so I am taking the liberty of posting NRHM. There are requests to post explanatory videos to accompany the maps, but that will take some time. I request students to please bear with me in the meantime.

The maps are being posted in chronological order (in the sequence they are meant to be read), but you are free to read them in any order. As with all previous maps, feel free to download and share the maps for non-commercial use, but do mention the source (watermark notwithstanding).

National Rural Health Mission (NRHM):

Map 1:

National Rural Health Mission (NRHM) 1


Map 2:

NRHM 2. Accredited Social Health Activist (ASHA)

Map 3:

NRHM 3. Indian Public Health Standards (IPHS) 1. Overview

Map 4:

NRHM 4. IPHS 2. Sub-Centres

Map 5:

NRHM 5. IPHS 3. Primary Health Centres (PHCs) 1. Overview

Map 6:

NRHM 6. IPHS 4. PHC 2. Minimum requirements to meet IPHS

Map 7:

NRHM 7. IPHS 5. Community Health Centres (CHCs)

Map 8:

NRHM 8. Janani Suraksha Yojana (JSY)

Useful Link:

Link to previous article on how to read these maps:


2 thoughts on “Mental Maps in Community Medicine: National Rural Health Mission (NRHM)

  1. Marcel

    Hi, I absolutely love the work you have done to map NRHM in such a visible way. I’d like to use them to better understand the NRHM and its components but can unfortunately not read it. Is there any way I can download them in better quality or did I miss the download button?


    1. drroopesh Post author

      Dear Marcel,

      Thank you for writing.

      Clicking on the link takes you to the Google Drive folder containing maps on NRHM and NUHM. A single left click will select a file which then can be viewed in the browser by clicking on the image in the right side pane. Right clicking on a file will cause a pop-up window to open. Scroll down the options to download the file.

      Apologies for the image quality- that’s the best I could get with the software I was using. You may convert the jpg files to pdf and see if it makes a difference.

      The maps were uploaded on an as is where is basis following student requests. I plan to update the maps in the near future but that will likely take some time.

      Feel free to write to me if you experience any difficulty downloading the files you want.

      Dr. Roopesh



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.