Levels of Prevention: Introduction

“Prevention: The act of stopping something from happening or arising” (Oxford dictionary)

There are different “levels of prevention”, depending upon when the preventive action was taken, and what was prevented from happening.

The various levels of prevention include:

  1. Primordial prevention
  2. Primary prevention
  3. Secondary prevention
  4. Tertiary prevention

I’ll discuss each of these in subsequent posts.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.